NCT Members

The NCT Members are scientific units, centers, hospitals and departments of the German Cancer research Center (DKFZ), the Heidelberg University Hospital and the Medical Faculty in Heidelberg that distinguish themselves through:

  • A significant focus on cancer research and cancer medicines.
  • Scientific and clinical excellence in oncology.
  • Close interaction and willingness to work in the NCT. This includes joint research activities, applications, publications and patient services.
  • A willingness to use own resources such as personnel or equipment in order to achieve the programmatic objectives of the NCT. 

The NCT Members benefit from the use of:

  • Central NCT resources such as the NCT Trial Center and the NCT Cancer Registry.
  • NCT resources e.g. materials and equipment,
  • NCT interdisciplinary areas/platforms/clinical cancer research programs.


Alphabetical overview of all scientific units, centers, clinics and departments of the DKFZ, the Heidelberg University Hospital and the Medical Faculty, that are involved with activities at the NCT.

Applied BioinformaticsProf. Dr. Benedikt Brors
Applied Tumor BiologyProf. Dr. Magnus von Knebel Doeberitz
Applied Tumor-ImmunityProf. Dr. Dirk Jäger / Dr. Niels Halama / Dr. Inka Zörnig
B Cell ImmunologyProf. Dr. Hedda Wardemann
Brain Cancer Metabolism Dr. Christiane Opitz
Cancer Drug DevelopmentDr. Aubry Miller / Dr. Nikolas Gunkel
Cancer EpidemiologyProf. Dr. Rudolf Kaaks
Cancer Genome ResearchProf. Dr. Holger Sültmann
Cellular and Molecular PathologyProf. Dr. Hermann-Josef Gröne
Cellular ImmunologyProf. Dr. Hans-Reimer Rodewald
Clinical Epidemiology and Aging ResearchProf. Dr. Hermann Brenner
Dermato-OncologyProf. Dr. Jochen Utikal
Epigenomics and Cancer Risk FactorsProf. Dr. Christoph Plass
Experimental Therapies for Hematologic MalignanciesDr. med. Marc S. Raab
Functional Genome AnalysisDr. Jörg D. Hoheisel
GMP & T Cell TherapyProf. Dr. Stefan Eichmüller
Immune Monitoring UnitProf. Dr. Michael Platten/ Dr. Dennis Riehl
ImmunogeneticsProf. Dr. Peter Krammer
Medical Physics in Radiation OncologyProf. Dr. Oliver Jäkel
Medical Physics in RadiologyProf. Dr. Mark E. Ladd
Molecular EpidemiologyProf. Dr. Barbara Burwinkel
Molecular Genetic EpidemiologyProf. Dr. Kari Hemminki
Molecular GeneticsProf. Dr. Peter Lichter
Molecular Genome AnalysisProf. Dr. Stefan Wieman
Molecular Hematology/OncologyProf. Dr. Alwin Krämer
Molecular Mechanisms of Head and Neck TumorsProf. Dr. Jochen Heß
Molecular NeurobiologyProf. Dr. Ana Martin-Villalba
Molecular Oncology of Gastrointestinal TumorsProf. Dr. Rienk Offringa
Neuroimmunology and Brain Tumor ImmunologyProf. Dr. Michael Platten
NeurooncologyProf. Dr. Wolfgang Wick
NeuropathologyProf. Dr. Andreas von Deimling
NeuropeptidesDr. Valéry Grinevich
Nuclear MedicineProf. Dr. Uwe Haberkorn  
Pediatric NeurooncologyProf. Dr. Stefan Pfister
Pediatric OncologyProf. Dr. Olaf Witt
Physical Activity, Prevention and CancerProf. Dr. Karen Steindorf
Preventive OncologyProf. Dr. Hermann Brenner
Radiation OncologyProf. Dr. Dr. Jürgen Debus
RadiologyProf. Dr. med. Dipl.-Phys. Heinz-Peter Schlemmer
Radiopharmaceutical ChemistryProf. Dr. Klaus Kopka
Signal Transduction in Cancer and MetabolismDr. Aurelio Teleman
Signaling and Functional GenomicsProf. Dr. Michael Boutros
Stem Cells and CancerProf. Dr. Andreas Trumpp
Systems Biology of Signal TransductionProf. Dr. Ursula Klingmüller
Theoretical BioinformaticsProf. Dr. Roland Eils
Toxicology and ChemotherapyProf. Dr. Martin Berger
Translational Medical Oncology Prof. Dr. Stefan Fröhling
Translational OncologyProf. Dr. Christof von Kalle
Translational Radiation OncologyDr. Dr. Amir Abdollahi
Tumor VirologyProf. Dr. Jean Rommelaere
Vascular Oncology and MetastasisProf. Dr. Hellmut Augustin
Virus-associated CarcinogenesisProf. Dr. Ralf Bartenschlager

Center for Otorhinolaryngology (Ear, Nose and Throat)Prof. Dr. Dr. Peter K. Plinkert
Department of Anesthesiology Prof. Dr. Markus A. Weigand
Department of Cardiology, Angiology and PneumologyProf. Dr. Hugo A Katus
Department of Dermatology Prof. Dr. Alexander Enk
Department of Diagnostic and Interventional RadiologyProf. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Kauczor
Department of Endocrinology and MetabolismProf. Dr. Dr. Peter Nawroth
Department of Gastroenterology, Infectious Diseases, IntoxicationProf. (apl.) Dr. med. Uta Merle
Department of General Gynecology and ObstetricsProf. Dr. Christof Sohn
Department of General Internal and Psychosomatic MedicineProf. Dr. Wolfgang Herzog
Department of General Pathology and Pathologic AnatomyProf. Dr. Peter Schirmacher
Department of General Pediatrics, Metabolism, Gastroenterology, NephrologyProf. Dr. med., Prof. h.c. (RCH) Georg Friedrich Hoffmann
Department of General PsychiatryProf. Dr. Sabine Herpertz
Department of General, Visceral and Transplantation SurgeryProf. Dr. Markus W. Büchler
Department of Gynecological Endocrinology and Fertility DisordersProf. Dr. Thomas Strowitzki
Department of Hematology, Oncology and RheumatologyProf. Dr. Carsten Müller-Tidow
Department of Infectious Diseases: Virology Prof. Dr. Hans-Georg Kräusslich
Department of Medical BiometryProf. Dr. Meinhard Kieser
Department of Medical OncologyProf. Dr. Dirk Jäger
Department of Neurology and PolyclinicProf. Dr. Wolfgang Wick
Department of NeuroradiologyProf. Dr. Martin Bendszus
Department of Neurosurgery Prof. Dr. Andreas Unterberg
Department of Nuclear MedicineProf. Dr. Uwe Haberkorn
Department of OphthalmologyProf. D. Gerd. U. Auffarth, FEBO
Department of Oral, Dental and Maxillofacial DiseasesProf. Dr. Dr. Jürgen Hoffmann
Department of Orthopedics and TraumatologyProf. Dr. Volker Ewerbeck
Department of Pediatric Cardiology, Congenital Heart DiseasesProf. Dr. Matthias Gorenflo
Department of Pediatric Oncology, Hematology, Immunology and PulmonologyProf. Dr. Andreas Kulozik, PhD
Department of Radiation Oncology and Radiation TherapyProf. Dr. Dr. Jürgen Debus
Department of Urology Prof. Dr. Markus Hohenfellner
Division of Gynecological OncologyProf. Dr. Andreas Schneeweiss
Institute of Human GeneticsProf. Dr. Christian Schaaf
Institute of Immunology and SerologyProf. Dr. Stefan Meuer
Skin Tumor CenterPD Dr. Jessica Hassel
Thoraxklinik-Heidelberg: Oncology of Thoracic TumorsProf. Dr. Michael Thomas
Thoraxklinik-Heidelberg: Thoracic SurgeryProf. Dr. Hauke Winter