Bewegung & Krebs

Contact

Head of Medical Oncology:
Prof. Dr. Dirk Jäger
E-mail

Exercise Oncology

Early observational studies suggest that physical exercise may have an impact on survival and recurrence of the disease. Study data are available for breast, colon and prostrate cancer. In addition, first studies showed that beside patient's quality of life, therapy-and illness-related side-effects were also positively impacted by systematic sports and exercise therapy.

For this reason, our research group "Exercise Oncology" is investigating the preventive and rehabilitative effect of sports and exercise therapy as well as its physiological surrogate parameters such as endurance and muscular strength, in view of the side effects of the tumor therapy and the prognosis. The optimization of oncological treatment as well as the needs of our patients are always at the core, they shape our concepts and efforts. With methodically sophisticated clinical studies, we strive to push forward the development of evidence-based sports and exercise-based therapeutic training programs for cancer patients.

Respective programs will be designed specifically for disease situations, side effects and the individual patients' characteristics. The knowledge gained from the studies will then be translated into specific treatment programs for our patients.

» Counseling service "Physical Activity and Cancer"»

Our research group works in close cooperation with the Division of Physical Activity, Prevention and Cancer, headed by Prof. Karen Steindorf.

  • Clinical studies on the efficacy of physical activity and sports in cancer patients with the emphasis on breast, lung, and pancreatic cancer as well as leukemia/lymphoma (allogenic stem cell transplantation) and pediatric oncology.
  • Development and evaluation of side-effect-oriented treatment pathways involving exercise and physical activity.
  • Studies to assess the prognostic significance of physical performance, i.e. strength, endurance and coordination.
  • Evaluation of mechanisms.
  • Studies on optimizing training management in oncological diseases.
  • Care research with the goal of high-quality and comprehensive exercise movement therapies being offered throughout Germany (» Network OnkoAktiv)

"Rudern gegen Krebs" (rowing against cancer)

September 17, 2016 in Heidelberg (Neckarwiese, Neuenheim)
» Further information (only available in German)

Dr. Joachim Wiskemannv

Dr. Joachim Wiskemann

Head of the working group "Exercise Oncology"
Department of Medical Oncology
Phone: 06221 56-5904
Fax: 06221 56-7225
E-mail: joachim.wiskemann@nct-heidelberg.de



Dr. Friederike Scharhag-Rosenberger

Dr. Friederike Scharhag-Rosenberger

Dr. Friederike Scharhag-Rosenberger
Deputy head of the working group "Exercise Oncology"
Department of Medical Oncology
Im Neuenheimer Feld 460
69120 Heidelberg
Phone: 06221 56-35681
Fax: 06221 56-7225
E-mail: friederike.scharhag-rosenberger@nct-heidelberg.de

Head of the Research Group "Exercise Oncology"

Dr. phil. Joachim Wiskemann
E-mail: joachim.wiskemann@nct-heidelberg.de



Petra Armbrust
Study Nurse
petra.armbrust@nct-heidelberg.de

Marcel Bannasch

Sport Scientist / Physiotherapist
marcel.bannasch@nct-heidelberg.de

Beate Biazeck
Coordinator "OnkoAktiv"
beate.biazeck@nct-heidelberg.de

Christine Boos

Study Nurse
christine.boos@nct-heidelberg.de

Anne Deisenroth
Sport Scientist
anne.hadamofsky@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Dorothea Frevel

Sport Scientist/ PhD Student
dorothea.frevel@nct-heidelberg.de

Corinna Henke

Physiotherapist / PhD Student
corinna.henke@nct-heidelberg.de

Lena Kempf
Physiotherapist
lena.kempf@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Dr. phil. Rea Maria Kühl
Sport Scientist                   
rea.kuehl@nct-heidelberg.de

Matthias Limbach
Sport Scientist / PhD Student
matthias.limbach@nct-heidelberg.de

Jana Müller
Sport Scientist / PhD Student
jana.mueller@nct-heidelberg.de

Jean-Luc Paratte

Sports- and Physiotherapist
jean-luc.paratte@nct-heidelberg.de

Prof. Dr. phil. Friederike Scharhag-Rosenberger
Deputy Head of the Research Group
friederike.scharhag-rosenberger@nct-heidelberg.de

Kathrin Schlüter
Sport Scientist/ PhD Student
kathrin.schlueter@nct-heidelberg.de

Justine Schneider

Sport Scientist/ PhD Student
justine.schneider@nct-heidelberg.de

Christina Titz
Sport Scientist/ PhD Student
christina.titz@med.uni-heidelberg.de

Angeliki Tsiouris
Psychologist / PhD Student
angeliki.tsiouris@nct-heidelberg.de

Rahel Weber
FSJ/ Student Assistant
onko.praktikant@med.uni-heidelberg.de